Séminaire vidéoconférence "Experiments in the Social Sciences" - Antoinette Baujard (GATE Lyon Saint-Etienne)

"The Sense of the Act of Voting Depends on Rules. A Teaching from in Situ Voting Experiments"
Quand ? Le 07-02-2017,
de 14:00 à 16:00
Où ? MSHS - Salle 418
S'adresser à
Ajouter un événement au calendrier vCal
iCal
Experiments in the Social Sciences

 

Antoinette BAUJARD (GATE Lyon Saint-Etienne) : "The sense of the act of voting depends on rules. A teaching from in situ voting experiments"

We have conducted voting experiments during the first round of the French Presidential elections in 2007, 2012 and so shall we in 2017. These experiments allow to compare the current 2-round plurality rule, i.e. a mononominal rule, with variants of multinominal rules, i.e. where voters may vote for each candidate, among which approval voting and evaluative voting. This communication presents the threefold teaching to be derived from these data. 

Firstly, when voting rules vary, results show significant discrepancies in the expression of electoral preferences, rankings of candidates, relative importance of candidates and, last but not least, in the winning candidates (Baujard et al. 2014).

Secondly, beyond the straigthforward teaching on the distinct properties of distinct rules, we learn that individual behaviors adapt to contexts. Voters may consider these different rules as different exercices (e.g. Lebon et al. 2017).

Thirdly, from one exercice to another, the sense of the act of voting for each voter evolves. This communication shall make the bold conjecture that this discrepancies may be due to the distinct domains of definition of voting rules. In mononominal rules, voting implies an individual thinking of the final collective decision: the expression of one voter are given the same aim and properties than the collective decision. Alternatively in multinominal rules including information on intensity of preferences, voting suppose that individuals take part in a collective endeavour: different properties are required whether for each individual vote or for the collective decision.


  

The next session of our seminar will be on Tuesday March 14, 2017.

 

 A video-conference seminar jointly organised by

 

EHESS Marseille, Vieille Charité, 2, rue de la Charité, Marseille - Salle 205

GREDEG, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis – Salle du Conseil de l’ISEM (SCI)

Institut Jean Nicod, Ecole Normale Superieure, 29, rue d’Ulm, Paris – Salle CRI

Università di Genova, Via Vivaldi 5 - 16126 Genova – Sala Passadore

Nafarroako Unibertsitate Publikoa, Economics Department, Campus de Arrosadia, s/n, 31006 Pamplona

 

 

Experiments in the Social Sciences:

 

Experiments have become part of the scientific apparatus in social science only relatively recently compared with the status they had already acquired as a superior proof practice in the late seventeenth century in the natural sciences. For the second year, the seminar invites participants from different disciplines, such as animal studies, cognitive sciences, economics, linguistics, neurosciences, philosophy, psychology, etc., to analyse the experimental paradigm, its historical development and its epistemological constraints and tries to open the blackbox of experimental settings. That is, this seminar aims at reflecting on the status of experiments in the social sciences in a comparative way across disciplines, the part they play in providing insights and proofs, the methodological and rhetorical differences in experiments and experimental settings, the necessity and role of incentives in eliciting “truthful” answers, the transfer from results in the lab or in the “field" to the “world", the status of the theoretical models to which experimental results are compared, etc.

 

 

 

For further information please contact :

In Genova Anna Bottasso (bottasso@economia.unige.it), Fabrizio Bracco (fabrizio.bracco@unige.it ), Carlo Chiorri (carlo.chiorri@unige.it ), Corrado Lagazio (corrado.lagazio@unige.it )

In Marseille : Stéphane Luchini (stephane.luchini@univ-amu.fr ), Christelle Rabier (christelle.rabier@ehess.fr ), Miriam Teschl (miriam.teschl@ehess.fr ),

In Nice : Agnès Festré (agnes.festre@gredeg.cnrs.fr), Eric Guerci (eric.guerci@unice.fr), Nobuyuki Hanaki (Nobuyuki.HANAKI@unice.fr ),

In Pamplona: Ritxar Arlegi (rarlegi@unavarra.es )

In Paris : Brent Strickland (brent.strickland@ens.fr)